In a world where environmental health professionals are unsung heroes, our association's awards are an opportunity to spotlight and honor accomplishments. Each year we recognize individuals and groups for outstanding contributions to the advancement of the environmental health profession.

Awards will be presented at our 2024 Annual Education Conference & Exhibition in Pittsburgh, PA. Learn more about each award we recognize:

A. Harry Bliss Editor's Award

The A. Harry Bliss Editor’s Award recognizes outstanding contributors that advance the cause and interests of the association and the environmental health profession through the Journal. Learn More

Dr. Bailus Walker, Jr. Diversity and Inclusion Awareness Award

This award is given annually to recognize an individual or group that has made significant achievements in the development and enhancement of a more culturally diverse, inclusive, and competent environment. Nominations are currently closed. Learn More

Joe Beck Educational Contribution Award

This award recognizes a member or team of members for an educational contribution designed for the advancement and professional development of environmental health professionals through instruction or development of an educational or training tool. Nominations are currently closed. Learn More

Walter S. Mangold Award

The Mangold Award recognizes individuals for outstanding contributions to the advancement of the environmental health profession. Nominations are currently closed. Learn More

Partner Awards

With our partners, we recognize the work of the environmental public health workforce through the Crumbine, Wagner, and Walter F. Snyder Awards:

  • The Crumbine Award recognizes local environmental health jurisdictions, U.S. Uniformed Services, and the U.S. Indian Health Service that demonstrate unsurpassed achievement in providing outstanding food protection services to their communities.
  • The Davis Calvin Wagner Sanitarian Award recognizes exceptional leadership ability, professional commitment, outstanding resourcefulness, dedication and accomplishments in advancing the sanitarian profession and public health programs by a Diplomate of the AAS.
  • The Walter F. Snyder Award recognizes outstanding achievement in attaining environmental quality. This award is presented annually by the American Academy of Sanitarians (AAS) and NSF International.

2023 Award Winners

Each year, our Past Presidents identify a hero for the profession who accomplishes much on behalf of environmental health but who does a lot of their work behind the scenes. View recipients of the Past Presidents Award.